Any Day Can Be Day One

Yesterday I used our slightly dusty juicer to make beet juice for breakfast. It got me thinking that any day can be the first day you start something new. Recently I picked up my camera and started taking photos again. Obviously you can tell, from the over abundance of photo posts in recent weeks. But now that I’ve started, I don’t want to stop. I never thought I would be able to be that girl taking photos all the time again but here I am doing it. It’s a great feeling. My mood has been very up lately, and that has helped. I don’t know if a crash is in my future, but I know it’s a distinct possibility. But even if I do, even if everything falls apart like it does, I know that any day can be day one again. Day one of actually taking a shower every day or of taking photos or just day one of feeling better.

I did something I never thought I’d do recently – I applied for disability. I know nothing about what getting disability would mean in the long run but I do know I’m not working full time now and it’s because of my illness. Money is tight. Anything would help us tremendously. I don’t know if I’ll be approved, I have no clue how difficult it is to get disability with a mental illness. But my app is in.

I did something else new for me right now yesterday – I cut myself bangs again. Photo forthcoming, I didn’t fix my hair so it’s a curly mess right now. I know it’s small, but it’s something I hadn’t done in a long time. I think I had been letting my hair just grow and only cutting long layers for about two years. It was just easier that way since I don’t fix my hair any more. Every other day I have a hair-up day where I don’t even wash my hair and I just wear it in a bun. I really stopped caring what I look like. And I would like to care again. Even if it means I have to fix bangs every day or every other day. So here’s to another day one of something new.

I have one more day one, a big one, that starts in t-minus four days. That is NaNoWriMo, which I posted about here, and I’m really nervous. I’ve been very good about blogging consistently and almost every day, and it’s been sort of a prep for NaNo, but still, posting 100 word count photo blogs is significantly different than writing 1,667 words of fiction every day. I have a feeling I will spend a lot of time sipping coffee and staring at my computer screen. I still have no idea what my story will consist of, but I guess I have time to consider it.

Okay, I think that’s all I have to say. Of course, I would love to hear if you have any day ones that you have started or are starting soon.

4 thoughts on “Any Day Can Be Day One

  1. This was such an uplifting post. I needed to read this. I have been postponning a lot of things and then I tell myself it is too late. But your post reminded me that it isnt. Yes, any day can be day one. Thankyou for sharing your thoughts. You are a terrific writer I am sure November shall prove to be fruitful. :)
    P.s. I support the bangs decision whole heartedly! :D

Leave a Reply

