Abandoned No. 1

abandoned house 1a

So we did it. Driving around on our regular weekend driving adventures outside the city yesterday we found an old abandoned house. Nicole stopped to let me photograph it.

I was super excited but also just running at full speed because Nicole was not sure about the legality of me creeping around some old abandoned structure. There were not any No Trespassing signs, and the property was for sale, so I thought it was really not anything to be worried about. We have trailed around the outside of many a For Sale houses, peeking into windows and walking on porches with no concerns, so that really put me at ease I think. Nicole was really concerned about snakes, but I haven’t seen one since the beginning of summer and I was so excited about getting photos that I don’t think I would have cared if one had peeked out from under something anyway. Needless to say, though, she waited in the truck.

abandoned house 1c

It was a hectic and heart pounding ten minutes to say the least. If I was even there for ten minutes, I don’t know. I almost stepped into the opening of the cellar which was covered by a piece of sheet metal and that was kind of an eye opener to be extra super careful as I was only being super careful to begin with. I did that while peeking into the side window, through which I found just a ton of stuff piled up, mattresses, a kid’s bike, a tire and a ton of other stuff.  Here’s the view through the window.

DSC_1230

I did go inside, but just into one fairly clear room in the back. The back door was open, or without a door all together, I can’t recall. I can’t say that all this stuff being left there astonished me. Being someone who loves old things, looks through dumpsters and goes to garage sales I am acutely aware of how people often just leave stuff behind or don’t care about stuff all together. I don’t know what makes me like old, worn out things but I do. I always have. Anyways, here are the rest of the pictures. The clock and the broken root beer thermometer were my two favorite things by far. I wanted to dive through the window to grab that clock, seriously.

DSC_1236

DSC_1239  DSC_1243 DSC_1247

DSC_1220

DSC_1242 DSC_1249

In closing, I have to give a huge shout out to The Dainty Squid blog for making me realize that photographing abandoned structures is something a normal person can do. I never really thought about who it was photographing all the really cool things I come across, but it is just some photographer on an adventure with a camera. I can be that adventurer too. I really hope this is just the first in a continuing series of abandoned things that I can photograph and share with you guys.

6 thoughts on “Abandoned No. 1

Leave a Reply

